Trinity UCC dates back to April 1860, beginning as a Sunday School in Philadelphia as an outreach of Old First Reformed Church on Race Street. Early in the twentieth century as a separate church, we united with Tioga Reformed Church and located at Broad and Venango Streets. In 1930, a carillon of 25 bells was presented by the Henry Schneiders, who added twelve additional bells in 1953, along with a bequest to maintain the carillon into the future.
Trinity became Trinity United Church of Christ in 1957 with the mergers of the four uniting denominations: Evangelical, Reformed, Congregational, and Christian. The church, including its carillon and pipe organ, was relocated to its present setting in 1969.
Joy Bell preschool was launched in 1982. Early Childhood Education is an integral part of our church partnering to share the love and knowledge of God from an early age. Trinity undertook a major expansion of the building in 1992 to provide classrooms, a kitchen, and other facilities. In 2018, Joybell Preschool was transitioned to Trinity Christian Academy with additional classrooms and play spaces added and updated.
Besides our carillon, a unique feature of our church is our expansive grounds and children’s playground which are open for community involvement & collaboration.